Proposed changes to Ofsted inspection frequencies for children's social care providers from 2021-22

Closed 20 Aug 2021

Opened 8 Jul 2021

Feedback updated 14 Sep 2021

We asked

We asked for views on amending regulations in relation to: 

  • Ofsted’s minimum frequency of inspections of children’s homes; and
  • The minimum frequency of inspections for children’s social care provision more generally from 1 October 2021 to 31 March 2022

You said

The majority of respondents agreed with our proposal to amend the minimum frequency of Ofsted inspections for Children’s homes, so that minimum inspection frequencies are based on the judgement from the given current inspection year and not from the judgement from the previous inspection year. Most considered that the current safeguards in place were sufficient, specifically highlighting the importance of intelligence gathered through the monthly visits by an independent person.

Most respondents also agreed that we should amend the minimum frequency of Ofsted inspections for children’s social care more generally, so that Ofsted should comply with the minimum frequency of inspections ‘so far as reasonably practicable’ for the period 1 October 2021 to 31 March 2022.

We did

The results of the consultation have been set out in a report on the gov.uk website. Based on these results, the department has decided to amend Ofsted inspection frequencies for children’s care homes and to enable Ofsted to comply with minimum inspection frequencies ‘so far as reasonably practicable’ for the period 1 October 2021 to 31 March 2022.

Overview

We're seeking views to :

  • Amend inspection cycles for children’s homes
  • Manage inspections for children’s social care provision from 1 October 2021 to 31 March 2022.
 

Why your views matter

The frequency with which Ofsted has a duty to inspect children’s homes and other providers are set out in Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Education, Services and Skills (Fees and Frequency of Inspections) (Children’s Homes etc.) Regulations 2015 as amended.  The changes proposed would be effective from 1 October 2021.   

These proposals aim to give Ofsted more flexibility to deploy their support and resources and to prioritise inspections on a more risk-assessed basis by using up-to-date judgements, evidence and intelligence. 

 

 

Audiences

  • Social workers

Interests

  • Education
  • Accommodation (Looked after children)